Your subscription provides you with a range of tools to help you manage the lifecycle of an item. These tools help you publish your changes at the right time. You can coordinate your changes with updates from other users.
The lifecycle of an item
As an item moves through its lifecycle, you must know how to track your item's progress.
The status of an item indicates the current stage of an item's lifecycle. In Content, the content items or assets go through the following status changes:
You begin by creating a draft item. A draft status means that your content or asset is ready to be composed or edited. While in draft status, you can send your item out for review and approval. You can create drafts from published or retired content items.
Drafts in review
When you submit your draft for review, the status of the content item becomes Draft in review. You can create a copy, save a version, check completeness, view references, and delete the content in this stage.
Note: The owner of the content item can end the review anytime they want. When the admin enables approvals, content items must be approved before publishing. If approvals are not required, the content item skips the in review and approved statuses. The content can be published immediately.
Content items are approved after they are in Draft in review status. You can create a copy, save a version, check completeness, view references, and delete the content in this stage.
Note: If you edit content items that were approved, they need to be approved again.
When an item is ready to go live, you publish it. You can also schedule a publishing time for the draft and approved content items. When added to the publishing job or event, the status becomes pending publish. You can create a copy, save a version, check completeness, view references, and delete the content in this stage.
A Published status means the content is live. The published content is available on the content delivery network. Your developer can then access and retrieve the content or asset from the CDN using REST APIs. Go to Accessing published content for details.
Note: You can't unpublish an item. Instead, create a draft of the published content. Then, click Publish to update your live content.
When an item is no longer required, you can retire it. Changing the status of a content item to retired doesn't unpublish it. To unpublish an item, you must delete it. You can create a draft and create a copy of the content when it is retired.
Note: You can only change the status of published content items to retired.