If a user should become disabled, an organization administrator must take these steps to re-enable the user.
- Go to Settings > User management > User Accounts
- Click the Disable tab.
- Place a check in the box next to the disabled user and click Enable.
Disable a user
A user can be disabled if they have not logged in to their organization for 90 days, or if an organization administrator disables the user manually. API login calls do count as logging in to the organization.
Password expiration policy
If Do not enforce password expiration policies for this user is selected in the user profile, the password still works. Otherwise, the organization administrator must reset the password by selecting Reset password from the Acoustic Campaign login screen.
Contact Support if an organization administrator is not available to complete the steps.
The Do not enforce password expiration policies for this user option is useful for accounts that have access to Campaign APIs. However, even if this option is enabled, all temporary passwords still expire. If the user has not logged in for 90 days, the Do not enforce password expiration policies for this user option will not work.
A password is considered temporary and expires when one of the following conditions apply:
- The password was manually set and saved by an organization administrator by going to Settings > User management > User Accounts > click the username and then enable the setting under View/Edit User.
- The password was created using the Campaign login page Reset Password link.
- The password was created using the Generate temporary password button upon user setup.
When the Do not enforce password expiration policies for this user option is enabled, the actual user, for example, an API user, must log in to Campaign and update the password in their own user profile. After the user updates the password, the Do not enforce password expiration policies for this user option is honored, and the updated password does not expire.
Troubleshooting blocked user accounts
If you set up usernames for Campaign via automated API processes the blocked status could still return even thought the user been unblocked, password is changed and the user has not attempted to log in.
When you change the password for these usernames in Campaign, you must change the password in the login call from the API. If this is not done, the multiple attempts by the API login cause the username to be blocked again.
Note: When selecting Do not enforce password expiration policies for this user option, the updated password does not expire, unless you don't log in within 90 days.
Article is closed for comments.