Folders allow you to manage who has access to specific content, as well as, organize your content. Folders are associated with individual users. If a user does not have permissions to view a folder or if the folder is designated as private, the user will not be able to see it.
Set default access for folders
An organization administrator can set the default access as either shared or private for all new folders created in Campaign. Here's how:
- Go to Settings > Administration > Organization Settings > General Settings.
- Click Edit.
- Select Shared where you see Default Folder Visibility.
- Click Save.
Create folders and subfolders
You can create either private or shared folders from most listing pages in Campaign. You can also create subfolders within existing folders, simply by navigating to a folder and using the Create new folder option.
Two or more folders cannot have the same name, or an error message will appear. However, if you find it necessary to create a folder with the same name as an existing one, a workaround exists.
You can create a folder with the same name as an existing folder by taking one of the following steps.
- Create the folder in the Private tab if the existing folder is in the Shared tab.
- Create the new folder in the Shared tab if the existing folder is in the Private tab.
- Create the folder inside of an existing folder.
- Delete the existing folder and then create the new folder.
Move content from one folder to another folder
You can move information from a private folder to a shared folder, but you cannot move the information from shared to private.
For example, if you want to move an email from a private folder to a shared folder, you can save the email in private folder.
Bear in mind, the new email will not contain the reporting information from the original email because the ID numbers change when you move it. Additionally, emails that are saved in your personal folder are available only to you to access and edit. Emails that are saved in the shared folder are available for anyone in your organization to access, edit, and use.
Delete a folder
Folders in Acoustic Campaign can only be deleted by the user account that created them. If there are limits on the folder for a Standard user, the limits must be removed before the folder can be deleted.
The user that created the folder should log in to Campaign with their Acoustic ID to delete the folder. If this is not possible, an organization administrator can impersonate (become) that user and then delete the folder.
Before you delete the folder, remove all of the content in the folder by either moving it to a different folder or deleting it. Folders cannot be deleted on the back end. They must be deleted from within the user interface.
If you are unable to determine the owner of the email or database folder, contact Client Support. Have the exact names (case sensitive, spaces, and so on) of the folders available when you call or open a support case through the support portal.