Digital Analytics provides administrators and some users the ability to control user access to segments and filters by making segments and filters public and private.
When a user creates a segment or filter, the segment or filter is private, by default, and available to only the user and administrators. Two new user permissions, Public Segment and Public Filter, enable users with these permissions and administrators to make segments and filters public. Public segments and filters are available to all users. Existing segments and filters that were created before this feature are public. Administrators can edit an existing segment or filter to make it private.
- If a user does not have the Public Segment permission, the user cannot make public segments. In
this case, the public option in the Segment workflow is
visible but not selectable.
If a user does not have the Public Filter permission, the user cannot make public filters. In this case, the public option in the Filter workflow is visible but not selectable.
- If a public segment is applied to a report and then the segment is made private, the segment in
the report remains public but is private in new reports.
If a public filter is applied to a report and then the filter is made private, the filter in the report remains public but is private in new reports.
- If a user without the Public Segment permission copies a public segment, the user's copy is
If a user without the Public Filter permission copies a public filter, the user's copy is private.
- If a public segment uses a private segment as criteria, the new segment is available as a public
segment and the private segment that was used as criteria remains private.
If a public filter uses a private filter as criteria, the new filter is available as a public filter and the private filter that was used as criteria remains private.