After a certain time, which is determined by an organization administrator, old, and rarely used data will be moved to the archives folder.
In preparation for the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), we evaluated our storage of customer data. Our revised strategy for storing Archived Data assures that we are not unnecessarily storing personal data for longer than it is needed, and also help us to respond to Right to Erasure requests from our customers on behalf of their data subjects.
As you might be aware, the Campaign product has processes for removing older, unused entities from our database, and ‘archiving it’ as files.
IMPORTANT: We are not changing your ability to determine when unused entities are off-lined. You can still set those values up to 450 days. What will change, is that after an email or database is off-lined, you will only have 30 days to download it before it is removed entirely.
How it works
Organization administrators enable all archive settings.
The database archive process can be configured to as few as 30 days to archive databases sooner to minimize clutter in the database views. This may benefit users who do not reuse databases for multiple sends.
Thirty days prior to data being archived, an icon will appear in the Days of Inactivity column beside the mailing or database name. The item will also appear on the Archive report under items that will be archived within 30 days. The Days of Inactivity and the Days Old columns give a continuous indication of how far away items are from being archived.
Database specific links, such as opt-in or -out, or edit profile, will not work after a database has been archived. Instead, links will direct contacts to user-configurable alternate pages. These provide users a mechanism to continue to collect opt-out information.
Organization archive settings are set by the system administrator and organization administrators. These settings control the maximum number of days before a database or data is archived.
How long data is archived
It depends on the archive retention settings for your organization. Some organizations can save data for up to 450 days.
Once the archive retention settings period expires, your data/mailings are permanently deleted; however, you may be able to view a list of mailings in Sent archive or a list of data in Archive which is found under Manage in the Data area.
For details, contact your organization administrator.
Viewing archived data
Resources > Archive Activity - Shows databases/contact sources and mailings that were archived in the last 30 days or those that will be archived in the next 30 days.
Databases - Databases that have been archived are viewable in the Archive tab in Data > Databases. Also, databases have a Days of Inactivity column indicating the number of days that the database has not had any activity.
Emails - Emails that have been archived (if enabled) are viewable in the Sent archive tab in Email.
Sent Emails - Sent emails have a Days Old column that indicates when the email was sent.
Contacts - Contacts that have been archived (if enabled) are viewable in the associated items, 'Contacts Archived'.
Types of data that can be archived
The following types of data can be archived:
- Contact tracking data
- Inactive databases
- Emails (header and content bodies), when enabled
- Select contacts, when enable
Seed, test, and suppression lists will not be archived.
Contact tracking data
Data that has been collected for sent emails, whether sent as a regular email, autoresponder or program emails, will be archived after 450 days of inactivity, by default. Aggregate details about the email will remain available, and the archived contact data will be available for download from reports.
Note: This data can be archived sooner if requested by the organization administrator.
Unused databases and their associated queries will be moved to the archive if they exceed the organization's set amount of days of inactivity.
Seed, test, and suppression lists will not be archived.
For example, if your organization's archive retention setting is set at 450, the database will be considered active if within the last 450 days any of the following have occurred:
- Emails have been sent against it (which updates 'Last Sent')
- Contacts have been added / opted in / opted out (which updates 'Last Modified')
- Database fields have been added (which updates 'Last Configured').
After databases have been archived, email specific links (click-to-view and Acoustic Campaign redirect links) and content hosted by Campaign will no longer be viewable from the email sent previously to the corresponding database. Instead, links can be configured to direct contacts to user-definable alternate pages.
Emails (header and content bodies)
If enabled for an organization, Sent emails and autoresponders sent using External Content Retrieval will be archived a specified number of days after the sent date. Archived email content can be exported from the archive, allowing users to review the contents of the email that was sent. This exported email content can be re-imported into Campaign for reuse.
Email templates are not archived and will continue to be accessible through Campaign unless deleted by their owners.
If you do not want a database archived, archiving can be prevented with regular use of the database, such as adding a contact, sending to a contact on the database, or adding a field. This use will prevent the data from being archived for another 450 days.
Archiving can be set to as low as 30 days. To set archiving periods, see archive settings.