Use the Save As command to save your current session under a new name.
You can save your session as a session (
.tls), an archive
.tla), or a reference (
.tls format is usually used for sending sessions by email or attaching
sessions to problem reports. The
.tls format can contain session annotations. The
.tls format includes copies of all binary files that are used by all pages of the
session. For most RTV users, the
.tls format is appropriate.
.tla format is used by the Archive Reader to re-examine a stored session.
This format is normally used by Experience Analytics administrators in the development of
new events, new RTA rules, and new rules for privacy blocking or encryption. The
.tla format can be indexed by common desktop indexing programs. The
.tla format does not contain any binary files.
.TLA files can be uploaded to the Event Tester for testing sessions.
.TLAfiles through RTV can have a different set of events and hits if session fragments are merged by RTV. To ensure consistency of results, you must verify that any auto-merging options are disabled in RTV before saving the
.tlx format contains the canister identifier for each session and the name
of the server from which it can be retrieved. When the
.tlx file is opened, the
actual session data is retrieved based on the references, by using the appropriate authentication
mechanism for the accessing Experience Analytics user. Since
do not contain session data, TLX files are much smaller in size than
.tla files. The format also provides an extra measure of security for session
Annotations in a session can be saved to different locations that depend on when the annotation is placed in the session.
- If the annotation is added and committed to the session while the session is being viewed from the canister, and before the session is saved to the file system, then the annotation (after commitment) is saved into the canister and is visible to all RTV users.
- If the annotation is added after the session is saved under a new name, then the post-commitment annotation belongs only to the copy of the session that is saved on the file system. It is available for anyone to whom the file is delivered and is not visible in the canister.